Private practice attending ready to answer questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctor4ever

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been on this forum since I was a med student. I see a lot of questions about money and private practice and I'm finally ready to start answering questions and yes you can make over 400K in psychiatry doing what you love without selling yourself to drug companies. I've been in practice for five years and I can confidently say I know how the field works. I decided to start this discussion because I have residents that ask me questions that I wish my advisors could have answered. I work in academia (with great benefits) and have a part time private practice.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Do you believe that Child and Adolescent fellowship is the best way to establish a cash-pay private practice? What have you seen done?

Is it possible to do CL in the AM and private practice in the afternoons, without call?

Is it true that it's actually that easy to match into psychiatry?

Also, this is a bit of a dumb question, but how does internship work? Do you match into an internal medicine internship, or a psychiatric internship and move onto residency?

Members don't see this ad :)
Is it true that it's actually that easy to match into psychiatry?

Also, this is a bit of a dumb question, but how does internship work? Do you match into an internal medicine internship, or a psychiatric internship and move onto residency?

http://www.nrmp.org/data/resultsanddata2013.pdf

That's the match data to tell you odds and so forth. Psychiatry programs are 4 years and include the intern year in a single match.

Psych is an easier match along with family.

I think the OP was intending to field questions about private practice and things that s/he would've liked to know before entering professional independent practice.