gdk420

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 9, 2003
Visit site
Status
I was wondering does anyone know what the profit margin for a pharmacy? Is it better to simply work as a pharmacist for a chain or to own your own store? I know the food industry is around 8%. Thanks

mbapharmd77066

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2005
STOCKTON
www.livejournal.com
Status
My pharmacist first worked for a chain then opened his own pharmacy. Now he has 3. For me, it is all about owning your own store. Working for a chain company sucks. I am in my 4th year working with a major chain company. I hate it; however, I need the money.

bananaface

Pharmacy Supernerd
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Apr 24, 2004
gone to seed
Status
Pharmacist
The margin differes in each store. The average independent store owner in the US makes about 200K/year. But, that is variable too. And, they can expect to put in more than a 40 hour work week (50-60ish).

GravyRPH

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 12, 2003
Cali
Visit site
Status
bananaface said:
The margin differes in each store. The average independent store owner in the US makes about 200K/year. But, that is variable too. And, they can expect to put in more than a 40 hour work week (50-60ish).
GP percentage ranges from 18-25% depending on 3rd party contracts/cash:insurance ratio/rebates/etc.

ZpackSux

Retired
Removed
10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2005
Dallas, TX
Status
GravyRPH said:
GP percentage ranges from 18-25% depending on 3rd party contracts/cash:insurance ratio/rebates/etc.
Let's do the math.

What's the average price of a prescrption? $40 to $55? Let's say $45. If I'm way off, y'all tell me. I'm not a retail pharmacist.

100 rx per day = $4,500 gross. open 5.5 days a week = $24750 per week.
$1,287,000 gross per year.

Worst case scenario at 17% gross margin = $218,790 gross profit.

1 FTE tech = $35,000 with benefits
Overhead (lease, utilities, this and that) $50,000