Pros and cons of doing the integrated vascular surgery route rather than the traditional 5+ 2 route?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jimmyd1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Obviously saving two years is huge, but what about not being board certified in general surgery or not having enough exposure in general surgery?

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't say there are no cons, but they're minimal.

I did an integrated, research track IM residency/fellowship so I have some experience in this.

The biggest con is, what if you change your mind? You get midway through PGY3 and decide that you really want to do colorectal, or thoracic? Will you have the option to easily drop back into the regular GS program?

If so, then there's more or less no downside. But if that will potentially be an issue for you, it's something to take into consideration.

Reactions: 1 user
If you are at a big time Vascular program (which I assume most integrated programs are?) you will do some of the largest abdominal surgeries out there during your training in AAA work so you will get plenty, PLENTY of training in mobilizing bowel, taking down adhesions and performing emergent ex laps.

Agree with the above, though. Vascular is very specialized and home to some of the sickest patients in the hospital. It can be a high-intensity, high-workload specialty. Vascular fellows at my hospital probably work the worst hours out of all fellowships (at least surgical...) here, so really make sure you make an informed decision before entering into it. I will say they are doing some very cutting edge stuff with endovascular approaches and have seemed to hold off cardiologists and IR so appear very protected going forward.

Obviously saving two years is huge, but what about not being board certified in general surgery or not having enough exposure in general surgery?