Changing specialty mid-residency (surgery to PM&R)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surg2phys

Reaction score
I am in the middle of a surgical residency and it has been going great by all accounts. I've been selected for national leadership positions, had multiple publications and national conference presentations, and been elected to AOA after the nomination by my PD. I love surgery, but as my family has grown, I've come to realize how much I struggle with missing things and not being around. I knew I would miss things when I chose to go into surgery, but what I didn't know is how much that would wear on me.

As a medical student, I often thought of PM&R. I enjoy the diversity of practice and there are certain areas I could really see myself enjoying. I'd also be able to see my family a lot more. The most terrifying thought is making the decision to try and get a PM&R position, being unable to do so, and then being stuck with nothing or having to go into a field I have no interest in doing. I've done some research on this but still have several questions, thus I'd sincerely appreciate any general advice and some of the nuts and bolts of how switching would work. It seems like PM&R has become more competitive than it was when I applied--would this switch be realistically possible? How can I strengthen my application to make myself competitive?

Members don't see this ad.

I am in the middle of a surgical residency and it has been going great by all accounts. I've been selected for national leadership positions, had multiple publications and national conference presentations, and been elected to AOA after the nomination by my PD. I love surgery, but as my family has grown, I've come to realize how much I struggle with missing things and not being around. I knew I would miss things when I chose to go into surgery, but what I didn't know is how much that would wear on me.