Pros/cons of switching to Organizational Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cayetana

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all...

I didn't get into a Counseling or Clinical PhD program this year (again).

I have a Masters in Psych (graduating this semester) with a 4.0 GPA, and I also have an MBA which I received in 2001.

That said, I'm starting to think about next year applying to Organizational Psychology PhD programs as well.

Could anyone who knows more about it help me out with some info?

1) Would it be easier to get in (is it less competitive)?

2) Would I still be able to work with people on LIFE ISSUES and people with mental disorders or would I be stuck in a corporate environment handling mainly employment type issues?

3) How varied are the kind of jobs I could get in this area?

4) Is it a problem that APA doesn't accredit (or is there another board that accredits this area)?

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Well, first of all, I am no expert on this. I am merely taking an I/O class this semester as an undergrad and have no interest in seeking a degree in I/O. That being said, here's the little bit I know:

1. From what I can tell, I/O programs are pretty competitive. Easier to get into than clinical? Probably just by the numbers, but in gneral psych programs are not a cakewalk to enter.

2. I'm sure you can work with people's life issues still, although it might be more difficult to work with those who have mental illness. You can always do research in areas that I/O and clinical research overlap, which can get you into that area.

3. The sense I get is that you can teach and do research or get consulting jobs--or dabble in both. However, I/O jobs do pay better than clinical, and there is a less than 1% unemployment rate. You will pretty much get a decent job if you are actively seeking one.