Quantcast

Prospective students with a foreign undergrad degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jonathani1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a BS in Computer Technology from a British University. I assumed that my degree would 'count' for med school application, and that I just needed to get the prerequisite pre-med classes postbaccalaureate (and of course take the MCAT).

Now I'm told by a pre-med advisor that my degree is not acceptable for entry into med school. Why? It has fewer classes on the transcript (classes last a year instead of a semester), and also there is not a broad range of disciplines (social sciences, sciences, languages, etc.).

My question: Have any students with foreign degrees -- particularly British ones -- been admitted into med school? Any help/input appreciated!

Sundarban1

Devil in disguise
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
You may want to post this on the pre-allo board as there are many more eyes there.

jonathani1 said:
I have a BS in Computer Technology from a British University. I assumed that my degree would 'count' for med school application, and that I just needed to get the prerequisite pre-med classes postbaccalaureate (and of course take the MCAT).

Now I'm told by a pre-med advisor that my degree is not acceptable for entry into med school. Why? It has fewer classes on the transcript (classes last a year instead of a semester), and also there is not a broad range of disciplines (social sciences, sciences, languages, etc.).

My question: Have any students with foreign degrees -- particularly British ones -- been admitted into med school? Any help/input appreciated!

This thread is more than 16 years old.

Your message may be considered spam for the following reasons:

1. Your new thread title is very short, and likely is unhelpful.
  2. Your reply is very short and likely does not add anything to the thread.