Psychiatry as a second residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jankymutt

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a burned out ER physician looking for a new career path. I was exhausted before covid, but even as we round the corner from the pandemic I am still feeling lost and disinterested in my job. For the past year I have been working part-time in addiction medicine and have really enjoyed this work. I find the work fascinating and rewarding. I have been able to get a few part time jobs with my credentials, but most full time jobs want a board certified psychiatrist so I am considering going back to do a psych residency.

My hesitancy lies in that I am 40 years old with a wife and baby on the way. My wife is also a full time physician, but planning on becoming per diem after the baby. Going from my attending salary to a residents salary (especially if I can't moonlight for a year or two) would be financially difficult, but not impossible. My psychiatrists friends are telling me I'm crazy for considering this and are encouraging me to look at addiction medicine fellowships or the clinical pathways (before they close) for board certification in addiction medicine.

Does anyone have any experience or insights on going back to do a second residency? I am wondering if I could get any credit for the PGY1 year from my 4 year ER residency (a lot of the rotations are the same)? Is losing 3-4 years of attending pay in my 40's crazy? Is the addiction fellowship/board certification enough to land me a full time addiction medicine job? Thanks in advance for any help, suggestions, insight!

Members don't see this ad.