psychopharm- psychiatrist or psychologist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

books31

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was having a discussion with a colleague of mine (licensed psychologist) about psychiatry and psychology. while deciding on schools, i contemplated med school. ultimately i decided on psychology and now on the road for my ph.d.
however, when i think of the highest possible routes to being a licensed psychologist, my mind wanders to either achieving the post. doc. in psychopharm, or going the psychiatry route?

If psychiatry, then obviously i will have to change my plans and apply for med school.

The colleague of mine made a comment saying along the lines of "if you plan on doing psychopharm after your ph.d. and you're going to prescribe limited meds, then why not go all the way and just be a psychiatrist."

he then went on talking about private practice, insurance, and overhead fees, etc. he said something about the insurance to cover a licensed psychologist (medical malpractice, in case something happens) would cost way too much on a salary of a licensed psychologist/psychopharm and (things in the business that i'm not dealling with yet nor know about).

i want a better understanding of this.

is he talking out of his ass and being discouraging? or should i start studying for the mcat now?

Members don't see this ad.

hello,

i thought this thread would fit well here for my concerns.

I was having a discussion with a colleague of mine (licensed psychologist) about psychiatry and psychology. while deciding on schools, i contemplated med school. ultimately i decided on psychology and now on the road for my ph.d. however, when i think of the highest possible routes to being a licensed psychologist, my mind wanders to either achieving the post. doc. in psychopharm, or going the psychiatry route?

If psychiatry, then obviously i will have to change my plans and apply for med school.