psychopharmacology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaMD

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 4th year medical student planning on going into psychiatry. I'm more interested in psychopharmacology than psychotherapy. What residency programs would be the best fit for that? (I'd prefer to be on the west coast, but would consider other parts of the country if I have to...)

Thanks for any ideas!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know which specific programs may be better at psychopharm because its not like I've been trained at several programs.

However Stephen Stahl is considered one of the foremost experts in the field & is at UC San Diego.

Some of the programs in the Midwest, such as Iowa and WashU, focus pretty much exclusively on psychopharm. In my opinion, they do this to their detriment, though they are well-regarded propgrams.

Members don't see this ad :)
Jose DeLeon is highly regarded in psychopharm..he is at Kentucky.....although the program itself is pretty well balanced I've heard.

Long-timers around here will know this is a pet peeve of mine, so please excuse the soapbox, but...

We're supposed to be psychiatrists. You can't be board certified as a psychopharmacologist because there's no such thing. Training focused only on medication excludes 75% of what psychiatrists should know. Go get well-rounded training and if you choose to practice primarily in medication management, then fine. If you don't train in something, how can you evaluate its utility or whether you'd want to practice it? I posted a link a while ago to the article "The Problem of the Psychopharmacologist" (I think that's the title) in Academic Psychiatry by some former colleagues of mine (Querques, Kontos, Freudenreich - not sure about the order). Important reading for all considering psychiatry residency.