PTA to PT, post BS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mufasa17

Reaction score
I know PTA to PT has been discussed very much already, however I don't think I've seen much if anything about anyone in my particular situation. I graduated with my B.S. degree last Spring (2017), prereqs are completed, and I am in the process of applying to grad schools, as well as a couple PTA programs.
I am applying for PTA for a few reasons; my undergrad GPA isn't great, so I'm concerned about getting in to PT school. Theoretically I would be fine with waiting another year, retaking more prereqs, retaking the GRE, etc., but I can't really survive on my current salary as a PT aide for very long, and my wife doesn't make much more than I do. Beyond that, because I have a B.S., the PTA program would only take me 1 year as opposed to 2, and obviously is much lower cost than grad school.
What I am planning to do if I end up going the PTA route, is to do that, work for a year or two, and apply for PT school again.
I don't really see this as financially viable, as I'd be paying the cost for the PTA program, and making 70-80k at the very most if I worked for two years. I see it more as A) better prep for myself for grad school, B) a way to boost how I look to grad schools, and C) as a fallback if PT school falls through.
No matter what happens, DPT is still the end goal.
Thoughts? Comments? Concerns?

Members don't see this ad.

If DPT is the goal, then why take a year to complete a PTA program when you could take a year to retake pre-requisites and GRE? What are your stats and why aren't you applying to DPT programs this year?
I don't know any DPT program that will overlook low GPA and/or GRE scores because you are a PTA, so you will have to retake anyway.
If you really need to be employed and not be in school, then look into the very few PTA to DPT programs available. I suspect they are highly competitive.