Publications during MSTP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kapnut

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been given the green light from PI to defend in November and I feel pretty fortunate that I'm finishing the PhD in 2 and 1/2 years. I really have enjoyed my time in the lab and got to work on a great project. However, at this point I'm interested in pursing a research track residency and I'm somewhat worried that my publication record was weak. As of now, it looks like I will not have a first author publication (not a requirement in my department). However, I have 2 second author publications with an IF 6-8 (my lab is a husband and wife team and the husband is always last and his usually first authors) and 5 co-author papers in journals with an IF 8-12.

I am not sure if I'm worried about nothing or I have a weak PhD.

Members don't see this ad.

First author publications would be good, but if you are set on defending soon and not in a year (not sure about your school's calendar or how long it would take to get a first author pub), I suppose you may have some time during 4th year to try and get a first author pub on something. I know people who have graduated without first author pubs, but it those people happened to not be interested in more research anyway. What does your thesis committee think?

My committee is on board with me defending and are aware of my situation. Honestly, the MSTP is such a long haul I'd rather get out in a timely manner. I'm just a little nervous that graduating without a first-author publication is shooting my self in the foot when I apply to residencies.

Members don't see this ad :)