Quality of USUHS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CrossMaster

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a senior at an academy. I am very split between a civilian school and USUHS. USUHS seems to make sense financially and professionally considering I owe many years to the military.

What is the true quality of the education at USUHS compared to its civilians counterparts? How do USUHS students fare against HPSP when it comes to getting the choice residencies?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently a senior at an academy. I am very split between a civilian school and USUHS. USUHS seems to make sense financially and professionally considering I owe many years to the military.

What is the true quality of the education at USUHS compared to its civilians counterparts? How do USUHS students fare against HPSP when it comes to getting the choice residencies?

Thanks.

I'm a student at USUHS just to preface....The boards compare application for the match based on points. Points are not awarded for what school you attend period. If you do well in school and during clerkships and on the boards you will get a competative residency, if you are poor in all of the above you won't. Doesn't matter what school you come from. As for the quality of education consensous even in this forum seems to be that the education is quite good, it's the military stuff afterward that most complain about. Some say there is preference for USUHS students in the military match...the official word is that we don't get any such preference. Bottom line it won't be the med school you choose that makes you more competative in the match as far as I can tell. If you wanna stay in for the haul USUHS will eventually count toward retirement (once you hit 20 you bump to 24 years in service). There are plenty of others more experienced around here that can either back all this up or refute it.

Thanks.