Question about GMO tours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NavyIntern

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current intern who is faced with going on a GMO tour next year. Now that all the GME dust has settled, I'm trying to work with a detailer but he is only pushing billets at Camp Lejune and 29 Palms. As someone who is slightly (and by slightly, I mean completely) terrified of going to war and being a GMO, I wanted to learn about what other billets may be out there.

1. Does anybody know about the billets that are not with the marines?

2. And can anyone explain a few of the details of the different billets: MEF, MLG, SeaBees, Okinawa, ship board, etc? Like where do they deploy to and usually for how long? What do the clinic duties consist of?

3. Are there any one-year billets?

4. Finally, my soon-to-be-husband works for the state department so his job is routed in the DC area. I have heard there are billets in the National Capital area (Annapolis, Baltimore, Pax River, maybe as far as Portsmouth). Does anyone know of about any of these?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me. I am kind of lost about all of this.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
The MEF is the umbrella organization for the main Marine Corps units. There are three main parts: The Division, the logistics group and the wing. The Division is the infantry. There are no female GMOs with the infantry. The logistics group provides support for the Division in terms of heavy engineering, transportation, food supplies, etc. Finally the wing provides air support to the Division. The Marine Corps is unique because they specialize in combined arms assaults.

I would recommend going to the greenside. The ethos of the Marine Corps is contagious and you'll never go back to the blueside.

There may be some 1-year billets in Okinawa.