Question about Masters Degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CM45

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am still a freshman fallowing pre-dental courses, and I plan on majoring in biology, but I just a few quick questions. In case I don't get into a dental school after I earn my undergrad I plan on pursuing a masters degree and reapplying to dental school. Now my first question is would this Masters degree have to be in a specific area of study for me to reapply to Dental school? Second, how exactly would a Masters degree give me a better chance at getting into a dental school? Third, would I have to retake the DAT, and if so wouldn't two years removed from pre-dental courses make it harder for me to improve my DAT score? Again hopefully it won't come down to this, but I just want to take in as much information as possible.

Thank you for any help.

Members don't see this ad.

You are a freshman so stop worrying about getting a masters which is 3-4yrs in the future. Study hard, get good grades, do well on the DAT, and have nice EC activities and you should get into dental school w/o a masters. good luck.

I am still a freshman fallowing pre-dental courses, and I plan on majoring in biology, but I just a few quick questions. In case I don't get into a dental school after I earn my undergrad I plan on pursuing a masters degree and reapplying to dental school. Now my first question is would this Masters degree have to be in a specific area of study for me to reapply to Dental school? Second, how exactly would a Masters degree give me a better chance at getting into a dental school? Third, would I have to retake the DAT, and if so wouldn't two years removed from pre-dental courses make it harder for me to improve my DAT score? Again hopefully it won't come down to this, but I just want to take in as much information as possible.

Thank you for any help.