1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Question about my old bad grades

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by HereIAm, Mar 1, 2007.

1. HereIAm

Pre-Medical
    I’m 33 and beginning a very long and slow process of obtaining a bachelor’s degree so I can apply to medical school eventually. I attended community college sporadically in 1991-1994 and again in 1999-2000. During those times, I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my education and/or future and didn’t take any of my classes very seriously. I took really random courses (everything from drawing to piano to manicuring) and ended up with 79 units completed and a GPA of 2.96, including one F and 4 Ws. This past year I started taking classes again and discovered that I’m a really good student who gets As easily. (By the way, I was a teenage parent and also in an abusive marriage during my first tries at college.)

How negatively will my past grades affect my chances of admission to medical school (preferably allopathic)? Do grades that old and/or grades for courses that won’t transfer to a 4-year college still count in calculating your GPA on medical school applications?

By the way, I left the abusive marriage, got my life together, am raising 3 children single-handedly, and started a successful company, so I have changed since those times when I got such bad grades, but will that matter to the adcoms?

Thanks for any advice you can offer. :luck:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. SunshineNYC

SunshineNYC SunshineNYC
    2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    The old grades shouldn't affect you as much as your age when applying to allopathic schools. I don't know why this is, but they tend not to take older students. Osteopathic schools are more accepting of older students, so you should consider applying to some D.O. programs as well.