Question about obtaining CA License

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ezio Auditore

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, guys!

I am a 2019 graduate and have been practicing as a GP for the past year. My husband and I are moving to California due to his new military orders. I've researched what I could since I know times are tricky with COVID-19 and Cali's state of emergency. I made a BreEZe account to start the application for getting a California license but I keep getting stuck because my only options for selecting an application are:
- RVT License Expired > 5Yrs. Application
- RVT License Application
- Temporary Veterinarian Application - Internship
- Temporary Veterinarian Application - Reciprocity
- Veterinary Initial Exam Application - CA School Graduate
- Veterinary Initial Exam Application - Non-CA School Graduate
- Veterinary Initial Exam Application - Reciprocity - CA School Graduate
- Veterinary Initial Exam Application - Reciprocity - Non-CA School Graduate
- Veterinary Assistant Controlled Substance Permit Initial Application
- Veterinary License Expired > 5Yrs. Application
- Veterinary Premises Initial License Application

The closest thing I can think would be appropriate to select is the "Vet Initial Exam - Non-CA School Graduate." But when I select it, it tells me:

"This Application is for:
  • Graduates or senior students within eight (8) months of graduation from an accredited American Veterinary Medical Association veterinary schools not located in California, or
  • Graduates or senior students within eight (8) months of graduation from a non-AVMA accredited veterinary school and 1) are enrolled in the Educational Curriculum for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) or Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE) program and 2) has passed the basic sciences examination requirements of the ECFVG or PAVE program."