Question about Personal Statements.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mac_kin

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since I've never done this before and I don't really know how people complete these PS things maybe some of you can answer my question.

I've looked at sample essays in books and online and noticed that a lot of applicants make their PS almost like a story about themselves, their interests, etc. Its almost like reading a novel. I haven't seen a lot of "I'm Joe and I volunteer here and there...and this is why I want to be a doctor".

But, I've also read somewhere that Med Schools want you to get to the point and that going at length about "how jogging through the streets of the Dominican and seeing all the impoverished children has changed your life" should be left out. So they would rather hear "I volunteered in the Dominican and my experiences with sick kids helped me realize that I want to be a doc".

So is it better to write it like a novel or just get to the point and describe your experiences and why you want to be a doctor??

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I guess a little bit of both would be needed. You need to make your statement interesting to read -- which a story like format can achieve. But it should be pertinent and answer the questions that med schools would be looking for.

mac_kin said:
Since I've never done this before and I don't really know how people complete these PS things maybe some of you can answer my question.

I've looked at sample essays in books and online and noticed that a lot of applicants make their PS almost like a story about themselves, their interests, etc. Its almost like reading a novel. I haven't seen a lot of "I'm Joe and I volunteer here and there...and this is why I want to be a doctor".