question about pharmacotherapy class

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

care bear

pink fuzzy user
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi everyone,
i am a med student going on leave for a semester in january. i am doing research, but also considering taking 1-2 interesting classes in the other health professions schools, that i will not really get a chance to take when i return to med school.

one of the classes i am interested in is 'pharmacotherapy for HIV infection'. however, i am not sure if i know enough to take it. there are no listed prereqs, but i'm assuming most students will probably be in pharmacy school. the course # is 100 something, which doesn't sound too intimidating, but then again i have essentially zero pharm background.

what do you guys think? anyone ever taken a class like this, and what did you need to know for it? thanks so much for your help!

(and yes, i know i should just contact the professor and ask, which i plan on doing. but since i was already on sdn. . .;) )

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently taking my "therapeutic disease state management" series of courses right now, and although prerequisite knowledge of pharmacology, anatomy, and physiology would be useful, there really is not a great deal of prerequisite knowledge absolutely needed for any of the classes I'm taking. Don't know about pharmacotherapy for HIV, I'll be taking a similar course in Janurary, but I think you'll be fine. They'll probably review the pharmacology, the MOA and dosing of pharmacotherapeutics as they come up in class.

care bear,
if there are no listed pre-reqs, you should be fine. we all walk in to our therapeutics classes knowing nothing anyway (and at SC, sometimes we also leave knowing nothing :rolleyes: )