Question about switching...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grundik

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an intern in a specialty that I am thinking of abandoning to pursue a career in pathology. I need some input on what pathology is all about from all aspects, including lifestyle, career, employment, income, about the actual work that pathologists do, and so on. I would also like to know how feasable is it for an american grad to get a spot outside the match.

Thanks,
Currently Disappointed

Members don't see this ad.

Yaah has put together some nice information in the FAQ sticky. It covers many of the points you raise in your post.

My impression of getting a spot outside the match is that it is still possible to do so. As I'm going through the match this year, I can't offer any sound advice on the matter. Hopefully some of the others who post here can help you out.

Good luck.

Welcome to the path forum! I think you'll find most of us helpful. We've had a few people post with the same type of questions.

First, I'll direct you to my website: http://pathdoc.blogspot.com. There's an article there called choosing pathology (http://choosepath.blogspot.com) that you might find helpful; it's geared towards medical students interested in path but some of it may be applicable.

Second, I'd written a long post twice, accidentaly deleting it each time, so I'll give you the highlights b/c my hands are tired :)

1. Private practice pathology- mostly surg path with a smattering of some other areas such as cyto, heme, and CP stuff depending on the pathologist's training and the needs of the group. Salary is good, probably starting in low to mid 100K with increases as time goes on and as partnership is obtained. Hours generally good but can be long depending on the practice and especially fresh out of residency (takes longer to feel comfortable with your dx's).