Question about the rabies titer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sophia1990

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!
I'm studying veterinary medicine in Germany and just got blood drawn to estimate my titer. I got the primary vaccines 10 months ago and apparently my titer already dropped to 0,3 UI/ml. Now the WHO states that you're only protected with a titer >0,5 UI/ml whereas the ACIP says that a booster should be given when the titer drops below 0,1 - 0,2. Now I'm confused and don't know which guidelines I should follow.
How do you handle it in the US?
My doctor said that I should get a booster now but I'm honestly not really into getting vaccines all the time especially when there's a reliable source that says I'd be protected just in case (Germany is considered rabies-free but I wanna be on the safe side).

Thank you and greetings from Europe,
Sophia

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey guys!
I'm studying veterinary medicine in Germany and just got blood drawn to estimate my titer. I got the primary vaccines 10 months ago and apparently my titer already dropped to 0,3 UI/ml. Now the WHO states that you're only protected with a titer >0,5 UI/ml whereas the ACIP says that a booster should be given when the titer drops below 0,11. Now I'm confused and don't know which guidelines I should follow.
How do you handle it in the US?
My doctor said that I should get a booster now but I'm honestly not really into getting vaccines all the time especially when there's a reliable source that says I'd be protected just in case (Germany is considered rabies-free but I wanna be on the safe side).

Thank you and greetings from Europe,
Sophia