• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Question from MSIV (help me out)

NYC_anest_2004

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 13, 2004
    I'm a 4th year medical student. I know that interest rates (when they are changed in June) will be higher than they are today. Thus, I would ideally like to consolidate my loans before the interest rates go up. I have heard that I can not consolidate my loans before graduation. Is that true? If I submit the application as soon as I graduate, can I consolidate my loans at the current (low) interest rate, and then apply to an economic hardship defferement? Thanks for the help.

rhinosp_33

10+ Year Member
    5+ Year Member
    Jan 23, 2005
      i've been lookin into this as well, so correct me if i am wrong, but .... what you can do is

1.) chose the consolidation lender you want right now

2.) submit paper work to them between now and may.

3.) tell them to hold onto your application before the new rate is announced.

4.) if the 2005 rate goes UP, then you use 2 months of your grace period (graduation in May --- until June 30th).... and have them finalize your consoildation on June 30th so you look in the cheaper rate.

5.) if the 2005 rate goes DOWN, then you use all 6 months of your grace period (graduation in may --- until December) ... and have them finalize... etc to lock in the cheaper rate.

6.) claiming forebarance /hardship can be down at the same time your consolidation paper is being done. its just one form, and you should request yoru lender to send it to you. beware, some lenders will not without your request. as such, after you consolidate, you will go into forebearnce/hardship as long as u qualified.

any idea which lender your gonna chose, and why?

VitaminK

7+ Year Member
      15+ Year Member