Questions to ask on the interview

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SomedaySoon

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to the forum...I'm currently a gensurg intern, planning to switch to FP next year (if I get a spot!)
I would like your advice on what questions to ask, topics to discuss and topics to avoid. For surgery interviews, it was all about number of cases, types of cases, trauma and no mention of family, balance or hobbies, except sports. What should I expect it to be like for FM? I don't want to be too stiff, nor do I want to seem lazy or too relaxed! I am also not sure what program-specific questions I really have because I don't see myself having many choices (beggers can't be chosers!)

I am interested in how the services are run, the teaching philosphy, resident-resident and faculty-resident interactions, program stabilty, electives offered, med student teaching.
Call, hours, benefits, etc are also important, but obviously not questions for the PD!

TIA!

Members don't see this ad.

All the interviews I have been on so far have been COMPETELY laid back and you can ask whatever you want. FM docs just want to know that you can communicate with other humans and laugh. They honestly want to get to know you. I've been asked more about how I spend my free time with no questions about medicine. Welcome to FM!

It's probably not too late to get a couple of interviews right now for July 08, especially if you are a US grad with credentials to get a gen surg categorical spot. I would call/ email programs and ask. All they can say is no... they know they will be getting cancellations in Jan as applicants get tired of interviewing.

good luck and welcome!

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi,
I'm new to the forum...I'm currently a gensurg intern, planning to switch to FP next year (if I get a spot!)