Questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

joelmamchur

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
My name is Joel Mamchur and I just found this board yesterday.
I have a few questions that I hope someone can answer:

First, I was wondering in which year most people take the MCAT. I am a freshman and am taking the test this saturday (as I'm sure most of you are). Also, what books did most people use to study? I used Barron's "How to study for the MCAT" and found it to be terrible (It doesn't even cover topis like capacitation).

Second, I was wondering what the weight of was in the biological sciences section pertaining to the ratio of biology vs. Organic chemistry. The tests I have taken appear to comprise mostly of biological oriented questions.....

Any help will be appreciated!
Thanks,
Joel Mamchur

Members don't see this ad.

Do you like pain? I was just wondering.. 'cuz you're a freshman and all. Did you take all the pre-req classes like Biology, Chemistry, Ochem and Physics? And not AP classes from your high school either. While physics and chemistry you probably only need a good basic understanding.. Biology and Ochem is another story.

Biology incorporates a lot of information and Ochem.. well, ochem is just a bitch.

But best of luck to you.

LOL. It actually has been painful so far....
And nope, I don't have all my pre-reqs... I"m done both bio classes....although I never took bio in high school, so I've been cramming for the bio portion so far.

I've only taken 1 university physics course but I'm pretty sure I have enough knowledge to at least get me an 8....
I've taken O chem, and thats actually a strong point of mine (I also took 2 yrs of ochem in high school) but I took gen chem in high school in the AP and IB programs.
Does the MCAT really have that much ochem on it?