Quitting Research Lab--Advice needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Xiao

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a sort of an uncomfortable situation regarding my research lab. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

So, I'm a third year undergraduate student. I've been working in this research lab for about a year. I had originally joined planning to stay all the way until I graduate (so a full 3 years). And the PI and my post-doc supervisor had assumed so as well. However, the research going on at this lab is very repetitive and not all too exciting. And I have been doing a lot of grunt work with no recognition. I have also acquired no insight into proper experimental design/how to come up with good research proposals whatsoever. I very rarely see the PI personally. I've also switched majors from Molecular Bio. to Engineering so my interests during this past year have been increasingly shifted towards more computational based research rather the traditional molecular bio. work that's going on at this lab.

Now that I'm a third year and have taken some upper division courses (and have a more meaningful idea of my scientific/research interests), I want to quit the lab to join a new one where I can do more meaningful work and acquire more meaningful research skills (not just how to run experiments). I tried today to bring this up to my post-doc in a tactful manner...the whole too busy with MCAT studying, thank you for the opportunity, etc. His response was a little surprising:

He told me he supported my decision to take time off from lab to study MCAT. But he advised me to continue drop into lab from time to time and keep up the appearance that I'm dedicating my time to the lab so the PI doesn't notice my absence. :idea: I can come back to lab full time after my MCAT. He also told me that if I quit though, I can't expect him/the PI to write me a rec. letter.