rabies vaccines!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bpop

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I am a pre-vet student (not that it matters with this specific post), and I am curious about schools around the US/world who make veterinary students get a rabies shot! I was at work today (I am a veterinary receptionist), and one of my coworkers was telling me that all veterinarians (I don't know about CVTs) have to get a rabies shot when they start vet school! I guess I'm just curious of who in veterinary school have a rabies shot (if they had to get one prior to vet school) or if you don't have to!

I know it's probably a stupid question, but it made me really think. It's $300 to get a rabies shot for a veterinarian whereas for dogs and cats it's like $20!

I'm sorry for this random post but I am really interested to hear what everyone has to say!

Members don't see this ad.

You will need a rabies vaccine. Not a big deal, all vet students get them and you are going to want one as a veterinarian.

Rabies is 100% fatal, no reason to risk your life over a few hundred dollars and a few needle pokes.

You will need a rabies vaccine. Not a big deal, all vet students get them and you are going to want one as a veterinarian.

Rabies is 100% fatal, no reason to risk your life over a few hundred dollars and a few needle pokes.

Yeah and I get that! I just found it interesting since I didn't know there was a rabies vaccine for humans and that we have to get them as veterinary students and veterinarians!

Members don't see this ad :)