Radiation Exposure During Surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

almo0318

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone give a ranked list of surgery specialties and (estimated) amount of exposure to radiation? Are there any fields that are not really exposed at all? I am a third year medical student who wants to be a surgeon of some sort but radiation exposure freaks me out. My orthopedic rotation had significantly more radiation exposure than my general surgery rotation. It made me realize it is something I find important when I decide on my specialty. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Ortho and vascular are the two big ones that come to mind. Most of my general surgery attendings see radiation very rarely - only if they do port insertions or cholangiograms for the most part. That said, in residency I have done my fair share of lead wearing between vascular and trauma rotations.

Reactions: 1 user
Ortho and vascular are the two big ones that come to mind. Most of my general surgery attendings see radiation very rarely - only if they do port insertions or cholangiograms for the most part. That said, in residency I have done my fair share of lead wearing between vascular and trauma rotations.

Agreed that Ortho and Vascular will be 1/2. Urology probably comes in 3rd due to fluoro in cysto (mostly kidney stone cases), but our times tend to be much lower then in a Angios. And if that still worries you you can tailor your career away from stones towards onc, peds, female, infertility, etc.

Members don't see this ad :)
ENT has basically no radiation exposure in the OR.

Any surgery or specialty that uses continuous fluoro a lot (not just spot films) will be the biggest contributors. Vascular, IR, Ortho, NSG come to mind. GSurg mainly for cholangios.