Radiology guidance...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

luke77

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Sorry to infringe upon your board but I am an undergraduate considering medical school and I have a radiology-specific question. I’m not a pre-med (yet) and had planned on pursuing a biochemistry PhD until recently, but I have always been very interested in radiology as a career path. My dad is a doctor and I have talked to a few radiologists in the past, so I have a decent idea what they actually do, and I think that the work fits my personality and interests very well. A few months ago, I came to the decision that I would pursue medical school ; however, after lurking on this site for a while I am having second thoughts. In particular, there is a thread on another section of this site entitled “Would you do it again?” (or something like that) where residents and recent graduates basically gripe about how they are dissatisfied with medicine and/or their current positions. In addition, based on other discussions on the site I get the idea that many physicians are dissatisfied with their careers.

I have two questions, I you’ll wouldn’t mind giving your opinion:

First, do you think that the general level of job satisfaction among radiologists is significantly different than physicians as a whole? If you listen to doctors on other sections of the site the general refrain seems to be “I wish I would have done radiology”. Are most radiologists happy with their career? Simply by reading the job description it sounds like you’d have to be crazy to dislike the job - reasonable hours, high pay, good amount of vacation time, little call…but are radiologists truly more satisfied, or is this just a “grass is greener” mentality on the part of other physicians?