rads & mdphd & research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chef

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
1. are there any mdphds in rads? are mudphuds sought after by PDs like ent, ophtho, derm??

2. are there much areas for research and advancement of the field by rads, or is that done by private companies mostly and rads are end users only?

3. do rads get lots of handson experience on the latest equipment and tech? i'm a tech junkie, but it seems like all the "playin w/ the toys" part is done by techs and rads only read films

4. what are the top5 research rads programs in the country?

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by chef
1. are there any mdphds in rads? are mudphuds sought after by PDs like ent, ophtho, derm??

I'm not a doc yet but I work with a good number of rads and I've noticed a decent number of MD/PhDs. Dont know about the other specialties.

2. are there much areas for research and advancement of the field by rads, or is that done by private companies mostly and rads are end users only?

Its mixed. I work in an interventional radiology lab, we do primarily MRI work but also some optical, CT, ultrasound, etc. For MR, pulse sequences are generally designed in the corporate world. We have a team of GE scientists at our MRI research facility that develop new pulse sequences for our use and also for general incorporation in to the GE signa scanners.