RBT experience + Master's in ABA instead of post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

that_sad_fish

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm currently a senior finishing my undergraduate degree in psychology and am currently taking an seminar class on autism spectrum disorder that also covers career paths. I recently found out that my university has an accelerated (5-year) Psychology BS/Applied Behavioral Analysis MS program to which I can apply and complete my master's in 1 year after finishing my bachelor's. After getting a master's in ABA, I could do fieldwork, and after certification work as a BCBA and work with children (possibly in a clinical setting). While doing a master's I could also work as an RBT, who work under BCBAs, and require a high school diploma and 40 hrs. of training, where I can once again work one-on-one with children. I have most of my pre-med foundational courses completed but I was planning to do a DIY post-bacc to raise my GPA, but if I can complete a master's in a year that also allows me to work (help fund later education), I could do a short DIY post-bacc after my master's, and apply to medical school in ~3 years after graduating.

This is all just a rough idea, but my main question was whether this education and experience path (e.g., working in ASD clinics with patients) could be meaningful in applying to medical school. After learning more about ASD and the need for improvement of facilities, I would love to be able to work that in towards my goal to med school if I can. I would also be planning to supplement my later post-bacc studies with other clinical experiences (phlebotomy, volunteering, etc).

Members don't see this ad.