really need an advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MyNameIsAlex

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey,
my situation is a little weird,

i posted here before but didnt really get an advice... so im trying this again :)

im about to graduate...with a degree in Information Technology from a decent Canadian school with approximately 2.8-2.9 CGPA.
My first year was really bad - 1.5GPA ...very low course load (only 4 half year courses)
Second Year was 2.2 (4 full year courses)

during Third year+summer school was 3.1 + some scholarship (completed more courses than first and 2nd year combined..., in terms of full year courses i took 7.5 full year courses)

this is my last year (4th)...im taking 6 full year courses, and so far my GPA is hanging around 3.6-3.8 (80% or A is only 3.8 in Canada, according to ACMAS ... :/ ).

I moved to canada from europe, and I was an ESL student... until the end of my 2nd year pretty much, even had to take some ESL english course, but thats not an excuse.

so at the end ... because of my poor year 1,2 grades my camulative GPA will only be 2.8-2.9.

i understood that this is obviously no enaugh for an american medical school.

this upcoming summer and next year i will be taking premed courses (bio, chem, physics, organic chem). i calcualted that even if i get a 3.8 (A) in all of them, my GPA will still only be 3.15. and to my understanding this is not enaugh either. my question is what to do? i was thinking of completing a 2nd degree in psychology next year because it will only take me one year since i already have a whole buncha courses that will count towards my degree, but i think that taking a whole bunch of psych courses along with the science courses may hurt me... in terms of marks, so it may not be worth it...evne though it will be more credits.

im trying to stay away from the caribbean schools.