Reapplicant- 4th time taking MCAT- help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

alex0388

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

So I am scheduled to take my MCAT on june 16th 2011, and this is going to be my fourth time taking it. My scores for the first 3 times were 22,22, and 17. Unfortunately, I was going through some rough times in my life when I initially took the exam and it took me a while to get back on my feet. This time around, I have been preparing for about 4 months, and am scoring in the 30's on the practice AAMC tests.

Essentially, what I am trying to figure out is if I score in the 30's on my MCAT this time around, with a GPA of 3.5, what are my chances of being accepted to medical school? My employment & extracurricular activities are very well off btw, some examples include the following:

-current employment as an ED scribe, where i see patients with the physician, do all of the charting, and keep track of orders (X-rays, CT scans, blood work,etc)
-3 months of research at the Indiana University School of Medicine-Northwest
-Cadaver Prosection program
-1 year ER volunteer
-Gen Chem I&II Laboratory assistant for 2 years
-employment for a medical records company
-independent study in organic chemistry
-member of pre-med society, beta beta beta biological society, honors program
-academic integrity chair member for situations pertaining to academic misconduct

I will be sending my application in as soon as I get my MCAT scores, around July 18th.

PS~ i should also add that I am a reapplicant. I applied in 2009 prior to receiving my MCAT scores, BIG MISTAKE! I would greatly appreciate any advice you all can give me. Thank you! :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Tell me what hard times you were in when you took the MCAT and how they affected your studies.