Reapplicant--MCAT issues

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yellowhat123

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to creating new threads. I hope I didn't just break some big sdn law by posting so out-in-the-open like this. Anyway, we'll see.

So...this application cycle hasn't been too hot. I'm wondering what I need to fix for the next cycle if things don't work out.

sGPA: 3.99
cGPA: 3.98
Top 30 undergrad institution (whatever that means)
Asian (yeah, whatever that means)

took a year off and worked in a lab (volunteered)

MCAT: two takes (6-7 months apart; both during gap year)
1st (509: C/P 129, CARS 128, BS 127, P/S 125)
2nd(511: C/P 131, CARS 123, BS 128, P/S 129)

Major in Biochem with a humanities minor and taking a bunch of foreign language classes

research: 3 years (2 labs--each one year undergrad programs; 3rd lab in gap year), no publications, but yes presentations

doing a master's right now, during this application season, that is research heavy--GPA is fine, so far, thank God

hospital volunteering: I feel like it was adequate (high school+college)

shadowing doctors: feel like I got ok exposure (200+ hours in the OR)

activities: seemed ok to me (I checked with others and they said things looked good)
--I haven't done any global medical experience or anything like that

personal statement: when others read it, they liked it. Although they did lightly tell me to make it more about me-->I took their suggestion and tried my best to modify it to be more about me

applied to a bunch of schools: they were pretty much across the spectrum

result: probably like 10 rejections or something like that, haven't heard back from like 5, interviewed at three places (haven't heard back from any...two interviews were back in Sept--both are instate-inclined schools but I was classified as out of state)

have not heard anything back from instate schools, save one rejection