Reapply, Masters or DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tay409tay

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a FL resident, I graduated in 2018 with a GPA 3.69 and science 3.52. I applied pretty late to MDs and DOs, I got 2 interviews at LECOM Bradenton (accepted) and Touro Nevada (next week). I have also been accepted to a masters program. I'm not in love with the LECOM curriculum or the school in general. I believe my application is generally lacking in volunteering, science research and the fact that I applied pretty late. I would prefer MD over DO, but I am fine with going DO. Should I go to LECOM? I think I'm leaning towards reapplying next year and aiming for MD. Do you think I would benefit from getting a masters in that time (could also do research and volunteering) or find a job in research? Thanks for any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

What was your MCAT score ? What are your EC's ? A Masters will not help you with a MD application. When did you complete your secondaries for MD schools ?

2500 hrs working EMT
600 hrs psych research
700 hrs volunteer in ED and hospice
1200 hrs leadership roles on clubs/teams
250 hrs peace corps campus ambassador
800 hrs in human resources
800 hrs office work
Applications were sent in between Sep-Dec 2018.

Members don't see this ad :)