Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Recommendation Dilemma

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by magdalynaa, Nov 16, 2005.

1. magdalynaa

magdalynaa Junior Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi everyone! This is my first post, but I've been lurking for awhile. I've actually been forced out of my lurking because of this dilemma. Some background: I'm almost 24. I graduated from Vassar in 2003 with a degree in political science. I completed all of the pre-med courses, took the MCAT (and bombed with a 23), and was rejected from the 3 schools to which I applied (all in Louisiana). I'm applying next year for admission in 2007 and will re-take the MCAT in April -- and study this time. :laugh: In that time, I've taken some post-bac science classes (2 anatomy classes and one microbiology course). I'm applying through my pre-med committee at Vassar, but I will be supplementing my older committee letter with a letter from my current employer, for whom I've been working for a year and a half.

I'm currently working as a case manager/admin assistant/counselor/whatever-else-needs-to-be-done-girl in a group home for juvenile offenders. My employers are basically my second family, and we all have a very close and very comfortable relationship. Seriously, it's like working for my parents. :p None of my supervisors possess particularly good written communication skills, so I've written every letter, every recommendation, every request for anything that has left this facility in the past year and a half. Yesterday, my supervisor, Wanda, asked me to compose a letter of recommendation for another employee and let her sign it when I was finished. The conversation went like this: