Medical Reducing Health Disparities and Serving the Community at Drew/UCLA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

This interview is the latest in an Accepted blog series featuring interviews with medical school applicants and students, offering readers a behind-the-scenes look at top medical schools and the med school application process. And now, introducing Shanice…

Accepted: We’d like to get to know you! Where are you from?

Shanice: I grew up in a small suburban town on Long Island. Trust me, what they say about LI pizza and bagels being the best is true! For undergrad, I went to Cornell University and I received my degree in Biology & Society in 2015.

Accepted: Where are you currently going to med school? What year are you?

Shanice: I’m currently a first year student in the Drew/UCLA Medical Education Program at the David Geffen School of Medicine!

Accepted: Can you share three fun facts about yourself?

Shanice:

1. I’m a first generation American and both of my parents are from Jamaica.

2. I was always involved in the arts growing up and I still love things like musical theatre, listening to movie scores, and watching competitive drum corps.

3. I found my composition notebook journal from second grade and I always wrote about becoming a “kids doctor” when I grew up.​

Accepted: Why did you choose Drew/UCLA? How did you know it would be a good fit?

Shanice: The Drew/UCLA Medical Education Program was my top choice and I was so excited when I found out that I was accepted! I chose it because I am passionate about social medicine and working with underserved patient populations in my career. Charles R. Drew University was created for the community, by the community, and I knew it would be a good fit because the program’s mission matches my personal mission. It’s definitely a bonus that I get to study in beautiful, sunny California too!