Refusing to fill a prescription

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZakMeister

RPh
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can you actually tell a patient who has caremark or optum or any other medicare plan that you can’t fill their prescriptions due to negative reimbursement or that they are not compliant? I heard it may be a breach of contract.

Members don't see this ad.

I am not an expert in this area by any means, but I think if you sign up for the contract, you are obligated to fulfill your duty.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Would you really refuse to fill a prescription due to not being compliant? That certainly won't help their compliance lol

I have never read an insurance contract so I don't know the answer for sure but my understanding is you are required to fill the script per contract. The real question in my mind is would you REALLY tell a patient you won't fill their script because you will lose money if you do? I think that sounds like a great way to lose business to me. I hope they don't fill any profitable scripts at your pharmacy if you are going to run them off that way.

I used to manage a super busy retail pharmacy and we would occasionally get what our company called, “low pays”. Essentially what this was is if we filled the Rx we would actually take a financial loss in the dispensing process. Some of these low pays were in excess of 1000 dollars.

Our company decided to crack down on low pays and crack the whip on the pharmacy manager to curb these losses. We were threatened with disciplinary action if we caused losses due to low pays.

We ruminated on what the solution to the problem was. I’m the end there was only one solution - this solution was to fill the Rx somewhere else. What a freaking mess this caused. It’s ridiculous that the corporate office would threaten the livelihood of pharmacy managers due to a screw up on their end.