regretting decision to go into pharmacy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LasagnaBoy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am in my first year of Pharmacy school, and I am starting to reconsider whether or not I made the right choice in coming to Pharmacy school. Although this is not a major reason, a major disadvantage I see is that I do not get much consecutive vacation time. Is this true? The reason I want more consecutive vacation time is because traveling is something I really want to do since I did not do much of it growing up, and I would love to visit as many countries as I can once I begin my profession. From what I hear about retail pharmacy, your vacation time is often broken up into chunks. For example, say you have 28 days of vacation in one year. It would be hard to take off for all 28 days in a row; instead, you would have to break it up into chunks here and there.

My question is, what ARE some jobs in pharmacy that give good vacation time that you can take off in a row (uninterrupted)? I cannot think of any besides academic pharmacy. However, I am scared of going into that because I know that in academics, it is very competitive and you should not count on getting a teaching/research position at a first-choice location (for example, UCSF). For personal reasons, I would either want to be in San Francisco or New York, and if it is that important to me I end up at either of these cities, is academic pharmacy even worth going into since it will be entirely too competitive to get residencies in those locations?

I have worked in both hospital and retail pharmacies, and I realize now that I cannot see myself working in either of these long-term.

I am very confused. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much guys!

Members don't see this ad.