Relationships and non-trads

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Petypet

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well I am a newbie in regards to posting here, but have been a long time browser of the SDN forums.

I am currently a PhD student in biochem and will be graduating at the age of 26 (god I hope), so likely medical school at 27-28, putting me in the younger nontrad age bracket. What type of relationships do these types of students have, meaning who they associate with and such (from previous stats most schools admit ~4-8 people 26-30). Just recently single, after a 9 year relationship, I am worried about getting knees deep in school to only miss the chance of having a family while I am still relatively young. Ideally I would like to have my kids entering college when I am 50ish, so that I do not seem like the old fart (sorry non trads) that my children can't do fun things with. Don't take this as I am afraid of the challenges, because I am going to medical school, but just want to see what the reality is of dating someone my age/maturity is.

So, how easy/awkward is it for someone my age (single male) to find someone that is probably already knees deep in their profession to commit to someone that has a lot more schooling yet to do. Those of you in this age bracket, do you associate with your younger or older colleagues and going into this expedition single was it easy to find a significant other that was willing to sacrifice a lot to be with you?

Members don't see this ad.

Well I am a newbie in regards to posting here, but have been a long time browser of the SDN forums.