Reneging on Fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pomacentridae

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a current PGY-4 Psychiatry resident who has accepted a position for a 1 year fellowship that is not in Child or Forensics starting in the summer of this year. I am in my very early 30s and have over 300k in loans. I now realize the time value of money and I am wondering if it was a bad decision on my part to follow through with this fellowship now that I am hearing of the offers my coresidents are getting out in the community for attending positions. I am not particularly interested in academics once I am done with my training.

On the other hand, I know it would be a huge letdown and would appear extremely unprofessional to bail on starting this fellowship since it is too late for them to find another candidate and I have already signed the contract. What should I do and can someone help assuage the feelings of anxiety I am having?

Thank you very much. Responses are greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Is this ACGME accretited? Was there a match? Even if the NRMP is involved, what would it matter if they banned you for participating in a future match? Slavery ended in 1865, yet I'm not encouraging you to not honor your contract. Maybe telling them now is better so thay can try and look for a replacment before July. I would read the contract carefully and see if it says anything punitive if you don't report to work. If it does, you eather suck it up and do it, or you get a lawyer's oppinion.

Reactions: 1 users