research assistant salary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

natusss

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
what is the average salary for working at a lab, right out of college? I have some experience and I am looking into full time positions.
My friend said he is getting $20/hour, but a PI told me that is way too much. What is a reasonable amount to say when they ask me "how much do you expect to make?"
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I make $13.50 an hour (capped at 40 hours/week) and I get health/dental. Not too shabby...

Members don't see this ad :)
17.50-18.50/hr with benefits in DC

32 a year with full benefits for entry level research assistants with a bachelors at UCSD

You should try and get a research position at a pharmaceutical company for the summer. I worked at Boehringer Ingelheim in Danbury, CT. This was back in 2001 and I was paid $18/hr + free housing at West Conn campus including utilities and internet (nice, modern apartments...laundry in your apartment, AC, dishwasher, balcony) + a free shuttle service to and from work. It's not too late to apply. I actually have connections over there and would be willing to give you a contact if you are serious about it. I worked in Med Chem, but they also have Bio positions available. :)

I almost forgot...you also get a round-trip plane ticket from your residence. All of this applies only for the summer internship positions.

i make 12.50$ clinical research, overtime is time+half

ditto, 34k at UCSF w/ benefits.

I would think that it is highly dependent on how much experience you bring into the lab- i.e. how many publications, who you worked for, what area of expertise you have. Generally speaking though, college grads wont make too much in the science sector until they start advancing their degree.