research experience without publication?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kleo0986

weeee!
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys- I'll have 2 years of full time research under my belt (I'm an air force behavioral scientist) when I apply to med school (2011). I don't have any publications, and as of right now it looks like all I'll be getting is maybe a tech report or a lit review at best. I've heard that research without publications looks bad because it seems like you didn't produce/accomplish anything, especially because I'm doing it full time... is that true? I can't really manage my own projects or perform my own research here, so while publishing my own studies would be out, I might be able to swing a lit review if it would make any difference or add credibility. Any ideas? My other stats are pretty good (~3.7 sGPA, ~3.5 cGPA, no mcat yet, starting volunteering at a hospital this summer), but I of course want to check all my boxes! thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

i think you are worrying too much - im sure your research is interesting and worthwhile (with respect to your application) without a publication