Research Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SweeTeaPie

Cornell class of 2012
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Out of curiosity, how many of you have a strong research background? I graduated in 2005 and have been working as a reserach technician for the past two and a half years. Those of you who have research experience, do you mean professionally, or just through school?

Also, how many people have lab animal experience as veterinary/animal experience?

Members don't see this ad.

I have two years of ruminant nutrition research experience from graduate school. And, I work at hospital for a year preforming cancer research usning a rodent model. At one of the schools that I am applying to, the dean of admissions was very excited when I told him that I had experience working with lab animals. From what I have gathered, lab animal experience looks just as good as food animal experience to vet school admissions.

I listed having research experience through my school. I have been working on an independent research project for the past year and a half. It is a molecular genetics study, so I am not working much with live animals, just pulling hair from horses and using the follicle for DNA. The only lab animal experience I had was in my immunology lab when we harvested the spleen from mice.

Members don't see this ad :)