Research for Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

realruby2000

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've just been recently accepted to med school and as an undergrad, I've never done any research. I've been reading that in order to get a good residency (like EM) research experience is necessary. With medschool being hectic enough, how and when do most med students get a chance to do research? Is doing research really that necessary? If I do some research before the summer of med school, would that type of experience suffice? If anyone can provide any type of info regarding this, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Research experience is not necessary for EM. Get to know your local EM attendings by volunteering in the ED as med student. You will learn many practical things not taught in basic science textbooks. It will give you a leg up on the wards and be able to make connections with EM attendings. It will also give you a chance to see if you really like EM.

Members don't see this ad :)
I've never done a lick of research. Wait a minute, I did have to complete some little project before graduating undergrad but it consisted of about 2 days of data collecting so no much.

It looks great and it fills up a spot on your ERAS application but necessary it is not (even in the most competitive of fields). If you do want to do some though, the summer between 1st and 2nd year seems to be the most common time to get involved with research.

Research is not a prerequisite for any residency. It can, however, aid you in gaining a specific residency.