1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Research Questions

Discussion in 'Psychiatry' started by rgb, Dec 8, 2005.

1. rgb

rgb New Member

Non-Student
    I'm a writer currently writing a novel that partly centers around the Crisis Triage Unit of a psychiatric hospital. While artistic license is a given, I would also like to be as accurate as possible.

I'm interested to know:

1. When and how a PET responds to a psychiatric emergency.

2. The basic procedures for involuntary admittance to a crisis unit.

3. The steps a doctor goes through when first examining a potentially dangerous and/or hostile patient.

4. The role of a psychiatric nurse, including limitations of that role.

I'd also like to know if there's a specific drug that can imediately cause someone to act irrationally and possibly violent.

If there is anyone here who can give me some insight into these questions I would greatly appreciate your input here or, if you prefer, via private post.

Thank you.

rgb

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Poety

5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I've got some experience here but I'm sure others can add a bunch more since you've asked a lot of questions!

Someone usually presents to the ER in a psych emergency because they have suicidal thoughts, or homicidal thoughts, or have been brought in by the police - now in my limited experience, you see a lot of these suicidal thoughts as malingerers looking for a place to stay and a meal when its cold outside, or when they are having major regrets over the coke binge they were on and now they're crashing. (I worked in an urban setting if you can't tell!)