Research v. Clinical Exp

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beethousand

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Need a little help deciding what to prioritize, I'm doing a post-bacc and taking O-chem and bio this Fall, but am wondering about whether or not I should focus on getting more clinical experience or start research. I have a potential opportunity to help out in a neurophysiological lab for about 10 hours per week. I also have an opportunity to volunteer in a pediatric emergency dept for 4 hours per week. I am currently volunteering as a public health mentor in a high school classroom for 2 hrs per week. I worked as a rehab aide for 2 years and got quite a bit of clinical exposure then, granted it was working more with physical therapists than physicians. Should I just go for the research and not worry about getting more clinical exp? (besides shadowing that is) Or perhaps both? ~20 hrs per week of EC's plus o-chem and bio including lab may be rather busy, but seems doable? Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.