Residency contract review

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Homo sapien

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am a resident in a Midwestern program and we just found out that our hospitals wants to cut our pay partially Because according to them they don’t have the money to pay us because of coronavirus. My question is, is that possible to do because we are under contract for the salary amount stipulated under our contract? If we were trying to get legal assistance, or even just a legal review, what type of attorney would we need to contact in order to do this. Are there any CPME guidelines for residency salary cuts or anything?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone. I am a resident in a Midwestern program and we just found out that our hospitals wants to cut our pay partially Because according to them they don’t have the money to pay us because of coronavirus. My question is, is that possible to do because we are under contract for the salary amount stipulated under our contract? If we were trying to get legal assistance, or even just a legal review, what type of attorney would we need to contact in order to do this. Are there any CPME guidelines for residency salary cuts or anything?

Contact APMA’s Director for Center for Professional Advocacy Chad Appel, JD at [email protected] or (301) 581-9234.

Reactions: 1 user
Fk them. Residents get paid essentially poverty line anyways. Stand up for yourselves, good luck.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
On one hand it may be prudent to look at the situation in a "at least they haven't shut down the program yet"