Residency Options in Boston for DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CJhooper123

PGY ortho
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently applying MD/DO and am not very familiar w/ competitiveness of residency programs.

What is the likelihood of a DO graduate earning a residency spot in Boston, MA. After viewing residency programs at various Boston hospitals, I noticed that there are very few DO's - is this due to Boston being super competitive or the fact that MD's significantly outnumber DO's?

I am a lifelong MA resident who is interested in IM, FM, EM, and Gen Surgery. Obviously, I should focus on earning a medical school acceptance first, but I am just curious.

Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

From my understanding, Boston is a very MD city. Your best bet would be to apply for the other programs around the state that's not in Boston per se.

Reactions: 4 users
Many of the residency programs hold a MD>DO mentality in Boston. Regardless of how people feel about it, that is the reality. However, there are opportunities and chances to land a residency in Boston as a DO. Best options within the city are St. E's (Gen Surg/IM) and Tufts (IM/FM) as they both have taken DOs for residents (St E's > Tufts). The Partner affiliate hospitals (aka MGH/BI/BWH) are a hard no. Maybe in 10, 15, 20... years, but for now they are off limits DOs for residency (sure you can apply, but no chance your application is looked at after seeing you are at an osteopathic school). Post residency is a different story however, there are a number of DOs working at these hospitals.

Outside of Boston they are "DO friendlier" (i.e. DOs on house staff) residencies: Lahey Clinic (Gen Surg/IM) in Burlington as well as UMass (IM/EM) in Worcester. Pittsfield Hospital is a former AOA Gen Surg and IM program with initial ACGME accreditation, they are the best bet for a DO.