Residency requirements

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorzip

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys
I'm an IMG student at a Caribbean medical school and should be applying for residencies in a couple of years. I was wondering if there is a resource out there that gives a detailed outlook of the criteria program directors use when looking at applications. Specifically, I got into medschool after 2 years of undergrad and so I dont have a BSc. Will this hinder my chances at getting a spot barring all other factors (step score, LORs, etc)?

Members don't see this ad.

There really isn't an official resource, and it will depend upon what field you're looking at and the specific programs. However, in general the lack of a BS/BA isn't a major factor.

I was wondering if residency programs will look at your GPA, volunteer work, and MCAT from before medical school? I thought that residency only look at what you have done beginning with the first year of medical school, but I'm not sure.

I was wondering if residency programs will look at your GPA, volunteer work, and MCAT from before medical school? I thought that residency only look at what you have done beginning with the first year of medical school, but I'm not sure.

For the most part, no. Pre-med school GPA and MCAT are only available if put in your MSPE, and that's rare. Pre med school volunteer work you can list on your application if you want -- but I'd only do so if it's really meaningful. The longer your app gets, the less I read it.

For the most part, no. Pre-med school GPA and MCAT are only available if put in your MSPE, and that's rare. Pre med school volunteer work you can list on your application if you want -- but I'd only do so if it's really meaningful. The longer your app gets, the less I read it.