Retail Rut

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MsPillSlinger

Dealing and healing
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I’ve been a pharmacist for almost 10 years, but worked in retail pharmacy (tech turned intern, then pharmacist) for a total of 18 years. I’m just TIRED of retail. I used to love it, but the honeymoon has been over for a while. I still enjoy interacting with customers/patients, but I don’t feel like I belong there anymore. Maybe I just need a change. I’ve tried Prior Auth positions, clinical pharmacist, and hospital pharmacist, but so far, those jobs have either *required* residency or experience, or I’ve not gotten the position.

Any suggestions on how to break into other avenues of pharmacy without specific experience, a residency, or more schooling?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Be open to relocating, especially if you live in a saturated area.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Try LTC.

Yes, LTC is quite laid back compared to retail. It's been said its where old retail RPhs go to die...LOL. The real downside I've found is there are constant buyouts of LTC companies and the loss of one facility can mean losing your job, so not nearly as stable as retail....

LTC night shift is even better. Myself and one tech. Might answer the phone 2-3 times a night. Check lots of cycle rxs and fill a few overnight orders. No day bull**** nor any of the drama you get from having to work with a lot of people. Probably as peaceful as pharmacy can get...

Reactions: 2 users
how is LTC overnight? i start my new position next week excited and hopeful this is good fit for me! looking for something more laid back

how is LTC overnight? i start my new position next week excited and hopeful this is good fit for me! looking for something more laid back