Retake DAT 3rd time? Below avg stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lynndent

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi this is my first time posting and seeking advice on SDN.

I applied very late this cycle (November) to a couple of schools and retook the DAT late November. I received 2 interview invites in February and eventually was waitlisted at both schools. I later received a rejection from one of the schools. I am planning on retaking the DAT for a third time.

I completed a 1 year masters in Microbiology to boost my undergrad GPA (3.0 cGPA, 2.8 sGPA). My masters GPA is a 3.6 which I thought was good but did not realize that the undergrad and grad courses are scored together so overall I have a 3.15 GPA and 3.2 science GPA. I know these are subpar stats which is why I really want to improve my DAT scores.

I am currently working as a dental assistant, have been there for a year now. I've had previous shadow experience at multiple dental offices. I'm preparing for the next application cycle early this time. What do you think my chances are honestly? Should I take a few science courses at my community college to improve my science GPA, should I wait until after I retake my DAT to apply and hold off the app til next year? Please any advice would be appreciated.

DAT Scores:
08/2015 / 11/2018
AA 18/ 18
TS 19/ 18
BIO 18/ 20
GC 21/ 16
OC 17/ 18
PAT 17/ 18
QR 16/ 16
RC 18/ 22

Members don't see this ad.

Hi this is my first time posting and seeking advice on SDN.

I applied very late this cycle (November) to a couple of schools and retook the DAT late November. I received 2 interview invites in February and eventually was waitlisted at both schools. I later received a rejection from one of the schools. I am planning on retaking the DAT for a third time.